Linked In It could be argued that Linked In is the most useful social network around, especially for job networking. In fact, Linked In specifically suggests that if you have multiple accounts, you should close all but one to consolidate.To close an account, log in via a desktop browser and click the thumbnail pic in the upper right to access Account: Settings & Privacy. Look for a link called "Closing your Linked In Account" under Subscriptions.You'll be given an option to do that, or just hide the channel instead.Hiding has granular options like deleting comments you've made. Click Delete your Google profile and sign in to do just that.If you forge ahead through your veil of tears, Facebook will ask you to specify why you're leaving, then opt-out of future emails, agree to delete any apps or pages you've developed, and hit confirm. Facebook will leave you alone, but there's the option to reactivate.To fully delete an account, go to the Delete My Account page. After 30 days—the grace period for you to return—the account and data is deleted. Note that Vine, the hobbled six-second video-sharing service owned by Twitter, is also matched to your Twitter account, so deleting Twitter deletes your Vine.That's a tool more people should take advantage of. It will not delete a You Tube channel associated with the profile.

Sure, you once thought you and Facebook or Amazon or Netflix would be together forever, but terms of service change, end-user license agreements mature, and, well, you're just not in the same digital place anymore.

You don't want to rush into a breakup, but if you're ready, we've compiled the links, tips, and—in the most extreme cases—the phone numbers you need to sever ties.

(And let's be clear, there's a difference between deleting an account and just deactivating it.

Microsoft promise that it "deletes all the data associated" if you do so—but that takes 60 days, during which time you can reopen it, if you still have the account security info. You can't delete the account until you've canceled any premium (paid) services or subscriptions you have with Microsoft Commerce while logged in. Skype It used to be impossible to kill a Skype account, but you can reportedly now do it via an online chat with Skype representatives.

Plus, Microsoft lists other things you should do first, like use up your Skype credit and reset your automatic replies on It's only possible if you're logged into the site, so they can tell it's you.

Search for desktopdating:


What you get here is the option to delete your You Tube —it won't kill the required Google account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One thought on “desktopdating”

  1. Here’s what we’ve learned about the most successful online dating photos from our research, data and matching teams: The Amount Counts We pulled stats to date from 2013, and people who uploaded 4 or more photos received the most inquiries (communication) from their matches.